Archive for September 30th, 2012

30-Sep-2012

Week 1 is Done

I haven’t had much to blog about which is why I haven’t posted in a few days.  It doesn’t seem to make sense to post the same thing every day.

That being said I wanted to check in today because it is the start of my second week on the plan and now is a good time to review last week.  Overall, I did well although I had a couple of small cheats.  I already mentioned having some rice.  Yesterday I wound up having some dairy.  I spent the afternoon with my kids playing outside and had a great time.  For dinner we went to Outback and, as always, we order the cheese fries and they were awesome.

The rest of the meal was paleo, however.  I skipped the bread and ordered a steak with a side salad and steamed green beans.  For dessert I took the kids to Sweet Frog.  I was a really tempted to get myself some frozen yogurt as well but stuck to my plan and skipped it.  I did almost get a cup of some of the fruit put out for toppings but decided I was full enough.

Some of the positives from week one: my right knee feels better than it has in a while although it was stiff last night after all that playing, I’ve lost weight and size (see below for more info), I have a lot more energy, and I haven’t had any hypoglycemic episodes.  The biggest negative is the extra time required to prepare food.  I like to cook but cleaning up is not fun at all.  A little extra time is well worth all of the benefits.

Here are the numbers from this morning:

  • Weight – 269.6 (-8.8 lbs)
  • Neck – 18.5 (-.25″)
  • Chest – 51 (-1″)
  • Waist – 50.75 (-1.5″)
  • Hips – 45 (-1″)

I am very happy with these numbers. I know I won’t make that much progress every week but what a way to start.

I also took pictures this morning but I haven’t had time to process them.  I’ll try to get to that this week.